Where the $#!% am I?

J-Bay Open Round Three

Jul 2015
Categories: News
Comments: 1
Surf Ride Short Link

Surfri.de links are tiny urls that can be shared with Facebook, Twitter, emails, blogs, etc. Copy and paste them wherever you like!

It was clear at the beginning of Round Three that the surf is not what would the competitors would depend on but rather their raw talent. Rookie Wiggolly Dantas faced two-time J-Bay champ Joel Parkinson in Heat 5. While Parko earned the highest heat total of the event during Round 2, a combination of spotty sets and Dantas’ excellent-range score eliminated Parko from the contest, a major upset! In the next heat, rankings leader Adriano de Souza easily defeated wildcard Dane Reynolds. In Heat 8, meanwhile, reigning World Champion Gabriel Medina scored a near-perfect two-wave total — 19.07 — throwing huge airs for three rides in the nine-point range, coming out strong and with confidence.

Heat 1: Adrian Buchan (15.50) def. Owen Wright (15.40)
Heat 2: Kai Otton (15.50) def. Italo Ferreira (12.83)
Heat 3: Julian Wilson (17.94) def. Fredrick Patacchia Jr. (8.40)
Heat 4: Nat Young (16.87) def. Adam Melling (8.03)
Heat 5: Wiggolly Dantas (15.13) def. Joel Parkinson (12.40)
Heat 6: Adriano de Souza (13.17) def. Dane Reynolds (11.90)
Heat 7: Mick Fanning (17.50) def. C.J. Hobgood (13.83)
Heat 8: Gabriel Medina (19.07) def. Matt Wilkinson (16.07)
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (14.16) def. Kolohe Andino (12.27)
Heat 10: Keanu Asing (14.83) def. Josh Kerr (12.33)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (15.67) def. Bede Durbidge (15.67)
Heat 12: Alejo Muniz (17.83) def. Filipe Toledo (17.23)


Did you enjoy this page?

Subscribe to our feeds: email RSS

We want to know about it! Voice your thoughts with us on Facebook and Twitter; or drop us a comment.

Quick Links

Surfboard Brands

Men's Boardshorts

Touch The Poll

Who makes the best wetsuit?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...


Shop By Brand
A·B· C·D·E·F·G·H·I·J·K·L·M·N·O·P·Q·R·S·T·U·V·W·X·Y·Z
Return To Top Return To Top